Social Justice Commission

The Rahway Social Justice Commission was unanimously adopted as a local ordinance by the Rahway City Council at the August Council Meeting.  The primary focus of the Commission is to make real and vibrant commitments to the social justice dialogue within the City of Rahway and it may review policies, structures and institutions to assure they work on behalf of the common good and deepen the awareness of social justice values. It is envisioned the Commission will foster and enhance social equality based on actions utilizing four (4) “pillars”. These pillars consist of:

  • Rights – Equal effective legal, industrial, and political rights
  • Equity – Overcoming unfairness caused by unequal access to economic resources and power
  • Access – Greater equality to access goods and services
  • Participation – Expanded opportunities for real participation in the decisions which govern lives

The Rahway Social Justice Commission consists of nine (9) members and two (2) alternates and is led by co-chairs Brittany S. Hale and Jeff Brooks.  The members of the Commission were chosen to obtain full representation of our community, including members of different social advocacy backgrounds, disabled representation, African American representation, Latinx representation, LGBTQ representation, faith-based representation, and law enforcement representation.  Commissioners are not paid, and the inaugural members serve staggered terms that began on September 1, 2020. Three commissioners will serve 39-month terms through 2023, another three will serve 27-month terms through 2022, and an additional three will serve 15-month terms, expiring at the end of 2021.

These members include:

  • Armani Saahd-Tann
  • Brittany S. Hale
  • James Robinson
  • James Shedrick
  • Jeff Brooks
  • Jessie Wilson
  • Najah Allen
  • Kiana Amaya
  • Rev. Dr. Marti Robinson

Alternate Members include:

  • Jonathan Jeffrey
  • Paola Aquino


Monday, April 26 Zoom Meeting Information:

Zoom Meeting ID: 960 9105 6918 Passcode: 9XANsK
Zoom Link:
Zoom Phone ID: 960 9105 6918 Passcode: 464022
Phone Number: (646) 876-9923 (301) 715-8592 (312) 626-6799




January No Meeting
February 22, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
March 22, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
April 26, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
May 24, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
June 28, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
July 26, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
August 30, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
September 27, 2021 Meeting – Zoom
October 25, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
November 22, 2021 Meeting- Zoom
December 27, 2021 Meeting- Zoom